News and Announcements

Seven earn EMS pins

Earlier this month, Southwestern Community College officials awarded pins to seven Emergency Medical Science (EMS) graduates during a ceremony at the college’s Jackson Campus. All seven completed two years of coursework, earned their associate degrees and are eligible to take state and/or national certification exams. Pictured here are, front row, from left: Tony Belcher, EMS instructor at SCC; Becky Turner of Murphy; Delores Sparks, Sylva; Elizabeth Dippy, Waynesville; Eric Hester, Southwestern’s EMS program coordinator; and Dr. Mitch Fischer, dean of health sciences at SCC. Back row: Cameron Taylor, Sylva; Joe Jessup, Franklin; Alicia Lambert, Cherokee; and Sam Myers, Murphy. For more information about SCC and its programs, visit or call 828.339.4000.