News and Announcements

Academic Awards ceremony honors high achievers

May 29 2019
Five students pose for a photo
Swain County residents honored at SCC’s Academic Awards ceremony on April 23 in Sylva included, from left: David Parton of Bryson City, Katelyn Collins of Bryson City, Dolores Taylor of Cherokee, Anna Oates of Bryson City and Rachel Godby of Bryson City.

The highest-achieving students at Southwestern Community College were honored in the annual Academic Awards Ceremony on April 23 in Myers Auditorium on the college’s Jackson Campus.

Among the honorees were 37 students who received “high honors” for maintaining a perfect 4.0 cumulative GPA.

Matthew Draughon of Cullowhee was named the N.C. Community College System Academic Excellence award recipient.

The Charlie McConnell New Century Scholar Award went to Celina Nations of Whittier, and Dawn McCall of Brevard received the Dallas Herring Achievement Award – given annually in honor of one of the state’s earliest advocates for community college.

Susan Burrell of Sylva won the Bob Scott Leadership Award, named after the former N.C. governor who also served as president of the state’s community college system for 12 years.

Lily Amoon of Otto, Andrea De la Mora of Franklin, Lyle Pressley of Cashiers, Kayla Sloan of Sylva, Dereka Taylor of Sylva and Dolores Taylor of Cherokee were honored as “Students of Distinction.”

To qualify for the “Academic Honors” portion of the program, each student had to earn a minimum of 30 semester hours of credit within the last four years by the end of the fall semester at SCC, be enrolled in the spring semester and have a cumulative Grade Point Average of 3.5 or above.

For more information about SCC, call 828.339.4000, visit or drop by your nearest SCC location.

A large group of students pose for a photo

Jackson County residents honored at SCC’s Academic Awards ceremony on April 23 in Sylva included, front row, from left: Scarlett Kinkaid of Sylva, Mandee Marlowe of Sylva, Bobbierae Maslo of Cullowhee, Kayla Broom of Cullowhee, Trevor Gates of Webster, Rebeckah Schosser of Whittier, Kailee Sullivan of Sylva and Carrie Shuler of Webster. Second row: Emily Alligood of Sylva, Megan Beck of Tuckasegee, Gizella Tarala of Cullowhee. Third row: River McBride of Sylva, Tracie Hall of Sylva, Linda Hopson of Cullowhee, Anna Hill of Sylva, Matthew Draughon of Cullowhee, Joshua Smith of Sylva, Phil Maynor of Sylva and Jonathan Painter of Sylva. Back row: Susan Burrell of Sylva, Caleb Handy of Cullowhee, Ethan Kompathoum of Sylva, Keanu Ammons of Tuckasegee, Lucas Sanders of Cullowhee; Joshua Akers of Sylva, Michael Bray of Sylva, Lyle Pressley of Cashiers and Wesley Walker of Webster.

A large group of students poses for a photo

Macon County residents honored at SCC’s Academic Awards ceremony on April 23 in Sylva included, front row, from left: Sarah Hussey of Franklin, Erica Myers of Franklin, Aaliyah Patel of Franklin, Emily Pignona of Franklin, Brianna Adams of Franklin, Nathalia Balliache of Franklin, Cindy McLane of Otto and Hannah McCall of Highlands. Middle row: Austin Doster of Franklin, Sara Messer of Otto, Eden White of Otto, Avery McGaha of Franklin, Amy Mayhew of Franklin, Ruth Gibson of Franklin, Amanda Stanfield, Emily Southard of Franklin and Eleanor Duffell of Franklin. Back row: Scott Mitchell of Franklin, Makayla Izquierdo of Franklin, Carol Hadden of Otto, Lacey Morrow of Franklin, Lauren Hickman of Franklin, Natasha Crisp of Franklin, Jason Casada of Franklin, Justin Staffelbach of Franklin, Lily Amoon of Otto and Dexter Phuong of Franklin.

Andrew Walden (left) and Kristian Gilbert of Fairview were honored at SCC’s Academic Awards ceremony on April 23 in Sylva.
One student poses for a photo
Annabelle Schueller of Murphy
One student poses for a photo
Alicia Vance of Waynesville
One student poses for a photo
Dawn McCall of Brevard