News and Announcements

Radiography grads honored at ceremony

Jun 13 2019
Group of students poses in front of a blue backdrop with SCC logo printed on it.
On the front row, from left: Jenna Sacchetti (Cullowhee), Gabrielle Payne (Murphy), Jenna Snell (Franklin), Eden White (Otto) and Sarah Gibson (Bryson City). Back row, from left: Savannah Adams (Yadkinville), Bethlyn Jones (Andrews), Austin Ball (Robbinsville) and Josh Stevenson (Bryson City).

Nine graduates of Southwestern Community College’s Radiography program were recognized during a May 9 pinning ceremony at the Jackson Campus.

Students honored during the ceremony include: Jenna Sacchetti (Cullowhee), Savannah Adams (Yadkinville), Gabrielle Payne (Murphy), Bethlyn Jones (Andrews), Eden White (Otto), Sarah Gibson (Bryson City), Jenna Snell (Franklin), Josh Stevenson (Bryson City) and Austin Ball (Robbinsville).

All graduates from the program are eligible to take entry level examinations from American Registry of Radiologic Technologists Radiography exam. They may be employed in hospitals, clinics, doctor’s offices, or other healthcare settings.

Graduates may also choose to pursue further education in the field.

Instructors of the Radiography program are Meg Petty, the program coordinator, and Kim Argo, clinical coordinator.

“I’m so proud of the graduates and look forward to seeing them begin successful careers,” said Meg Petty, Radiography program coordinator. “The program has been in existence since 1986 and continues to provide quality technologists for the healthcare field.  Our program prepares students to start work right away and provides the basis for continued training and education into other sub specialty areas such as MRI, Nuclear Medicine, Sonography, Mammography, and CT.” 

For more information about the radiography program at SCC, call 828.339.4000 or visit www.southwesterncc.eduhealth-sciences/radiography.