GENERAL ACCOUNT OF THE CLOSED SESSION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES BI-MONTHLY MEETING

Southwestern Community College

April 8, 2025 – SCC Jackson Campus

Attending:

<u>Trustees</u>		<u>Guests</u>	College Staff
Howard Allman	Mark Jones	Dean Shatley	Dr. Don Tomas (virtual)
Toby Allman (virtual)	Cory McCall		Scott Baker
Sue Bartlett	Gerald McKinney		Tyler Goode
Joyce Cooper	Brett Rogers		Kathy Posey
Jack Debnam	Elizabeth Waldroop		Bryan Singleton
Ken Henke	Cynthia Womble		-

Absent:

Jeff Cloer Luke Hyde

The Board of Trustees of Southwestern Community College (SCC) met for a special called meeting on April 8, 2025 at 6:00pm in the Charles Siler Slagle Board Room of the Conrad G. Burrell Building on the Jackson campus.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Mark Jones at 6:00 p.m., who then read the Ethics and Conflict of Interest Statement. A quorum was present. Dr. Don Tomas explained his physical absence was due to a death in the family.

The board reviewed the staff grievance policy, noting a separate policy exists for student grievance. Mr. Jack Debnam made a motion to move into a Closed Session. Ms. Sue Bartlett seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

-CLOSED SESSION-

With no other matters to discuss in the Closed Session, Mr. Debnam made a motion to end the Closed Session. Mr. McKinney seconded the motion, which passed unanimously. Closed Session ended at 7:25pm and Open Session resumed.

Mr. Howard Allman made a motion to approve Dr. Don Tomas' 2024 performance evaluation as presented at the March 25, 2025 board meeting. Mr. Jack Debnam seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Mr. Gerald McKinney made a motion to approve a contract extension for one year for Dr. Don Tomas with his contract now ending on June 30, 2029, subject to State Board approval. Mr. Brett Rogers seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

With no further business, Ms. Cynthia Womble made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Howard
Allman seconded the motion, which passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 7:30pm.

Mark Jones, Chair

Board of Trustees

Don Tomas, Secretary

Board of Trustees